
This kind of stuff pisses me off. Okay, yes, I'm very socially liberal, and I don't like everyone's opinions. However, Facebook and the rest of the world needs to shut up about it already. Seriously. I'm so tired of hearing about this again and again every day. Yeah, alright--the CEO of Chick-fil-A stated his stance on same-sex marriage (how it shouldn't be legal/allowed). Sweet. The restaurant itself has been known to be religiously affiliated (Mormon/Christian), but who didn't see this coming? Furreal?
I mean, they're even closed on Sundays. On purpose. They didn't have a problem hiding that. And they actually do a fairly good job of NOT showing or shoving their religious views down their customers' throats. It's not like they're pulling one of these:
...and then saying, "Have a great day!"
Many people, including my own friends, have stated that they are not going to Chick-fil-A again--or for a while--because consuming their products automatically says to others, "I support what they (the CEO) stand for." Okay, I understand where they're coming from, but as far as I know, only the CEO has said something. And I don't know what people wanted to expect. We knew they were religious... so don't you think they *may* follow the Bible?? At least somewhat?
I'm all for gay marriage, but I'm sure not everyone working there follows everything the CEO believes. And here's something: We have something called the 1st Amendment. He has the right to say whatever he wants as long as it isn't libel, slander, or isn't threatening anyone's well-being. He didn't violate any of that. He felt like he wanted to be honest to millions of people, and kudos to him. He controls something billions of people go in and out of every year, and he decided to take a risk to build and/or tarnish his reputation by speaking about a very hot topic. Good for him.
Also! To the best of abilities, I do not recall Chick-fil-A ever denying gay people service just for walking in their restaurants gay. We are all paying customers and are consuming their food. If people want to protest because of what the CEO said, that's cool... but I'll tell you what:
I'm still going to eat there every once in a while, like I always have been, and I'm an atheist. Haha. Seriously. Too many people are blowing all of this waaaaay out of proportion. Eat... don't eat there. I don't care. But please, be more careful and mindful of why you're against something. The media isn't helping the cause too much, either. This was sooooo last week anyway. ;-)
Choose your battles wisely, peeps.
Autumn <3
No comments:
Post a Comment